The LifterLMS Builder allows you to manage the structure and outline of your courses.
From the course builder you can create new sections and lessons, manage their order, and edit their titles. You can also delete lessons and sections from the course builder.
The builder was added in LifterLMS 3.13.0 and replaced the “Course Outline” metabox found on the course editing screen in all previous versions of LifterLMS.
You can get to the builder from three different places on the admin panel.
- From the course editor screen. Locate the “Course Builder” metabox on the right side of the screen. Click the “Launch Course Builder” button.
- From the course’s list screen. Hover over the title of a course and click the “Builder” link from the displayed actions list.
- From any lesson editor screen. Locate the “Course Builder” metabox on the right side of the screen.
Sections, the building block of a course, are created and managed only from within the builder.
To create a new section you can click the “Section” button under “Course Elements”
A new section added via clicking will be automatically added to the end of the course.
A new section may also be dragged into the main course builder area and dropped into the highlighted blue drop-zone.
Lessons hold the main content of your course and can be added to the course via the builder just like a section.
To create a new lesson you can click the “Lesson” button under “Course Elements”
A new lesson added via clicking will be automatically added to the end of the currently active section or, if no sections are active, the end of the last section in the course. The active section is the section highlighted in blue. Click a section to activate it.
A new lesson may also be dragged into the main course builder area and dropped into any section, highlighted by the blue drop-zones.
Quizzes can be added to a lesson via the Builder, for information on creating quizzes, see the quiz creation tutorial.
Both sections and lessons can be reordered within a course by using either the “shift” buttons or by grabbing them by their drag handles and dropping them into their new position.
Hover over a section or lesson title to reveal their drag handles and shift buttons.
Clicking the up-arrow shift button will move the lesson or section one position up and the down-arrow shift button will move the element one position down.
In addition to reordering within a section, lessons may also be moved between sections. When dragging a lesson, it can be dropped into another section and you can use the “Next” and “Previous Section” buttons to move a lesson with a click.
All the section and lesson numbers are automatically calculated and saved when you create and reorder lessons!
The titles of the course and all sections and lessons are editable from within the course builder.
To edit any title simply click on the title and edit the title in the field. The new title will be saved automatically when you hit the “Enter” or “Tab” keys or when you click out of the field with your mouse. If you want to revert to the previous title after making changes you can press the “esc” key before leaving the field.
You can delete both sections and lessons from within the builder.
To delete a section or lesson click the Delete Icon after hovering over a section or lesson header.
Only empty sections (a section with no lessons) can be deleted.
When deleting lessons and sections the deletion is permanent and the content of your lesson will be removed from the database and cannot be recovered!
Sections can be expanded and collapsed on the builder in order to make management of large courses easier.
Click the Plus icon to expand a collapsed section:
Click the Minus icon to collapse an expanded section:
You can expand and collapse all sections in one click by using the “Expand All” and “Collapse All” buttons on the sidebar.
All data is automatically saved via the WordPress Heartbeat API.
The saving status indicator at the bottom of the builder sidebar displays the current saving status and errors when saving errors are encountered.
The indicator may display 3 different statuses depending on the state of your course:
- Saved indicates all changes have been sucessfully saved. In this state the Indicator button is disabled.
- Save Changes indicates there are changes that have not been saved. In this state you can click the indicator button to save your changes. If you wait, the unsaved changes will be automatically saved during the next Heartbeat Tick (more than likely within 30 seconds)
- Saving Changes indicates that data is currently being saved.
If the WordPress Heartbeat is disabled on your website changes will not be saved automatically. Instead you will need to manually click the “Save Changes” button when ready.